Provisional patent cost for startups: AI patent firms compared
Two AI patent providers that work with startups publish fixed fees. Fearn, a patent prosecution firm, lists $2,500 for a provisional and $9,000 for a non-provisional PCT application. Patentext, a registered patent agency, lists $3,600 for a provisional and $5,700 for a non-provisional or PCT application, plus a platform plan from $2,700 a year. Landfall IP says it uses fixed fees and quotes each matter.
Last updated · 5 providers covered
This is not legal advice.
No firm paid to appear on this page or for its position. Any future paid placement will be labelled Advertising.
Firms are grouped by type of work, not ranked, and listed alphabetically within each table.
Prices are the firms' own published figures, checked on 20 October 2026, and can change.
What does a provisional patent cost at an AI patent firm?
A provisional patent application is listed at $2,500 by Fearn and $3,600 by Patentext. Fearn says it covers USPTO fees through issuance; Patentext bills USPTO fees separately and requires a platform plan, from $2,700 a year, while an application is active.
Fearn says its $2,500 provisional is credited toward the non-provisional if you convert (source). Patentext's startup program offers selected startups 50% off their first year, up to $3,000 (source).
Fees side by side
Fearn charges one fixed fee per stage and says it covers USPTO fees through issuance; Patentext charges a fee per application plus an annual platform plan, with USPTO fees billed separately. Which costs less overall depends on the filings you plan.
| Item | Fearn | Patentext |
|---|---|---|
| Provider type | Patent prosecution firm (Fearn Legal, LLC) Source | Registered patent agency, not a law firm (Patentext Services) Source |
| Search or landscape | Landscape analysis $2,000 Source | Patentability search and opinion $750 Source |
| Provisional application | $2,500 Source | $3,600 Source |
| Non-provisional or PCT application | $9,000 for one non-provisional PCT application Source | Non-provisional $5,700; PCT (U.S. Receiving Office) $5,700; $4,700 to convert a Patentext-drafted provisional Source |
| US national phase | $7,500 Source | Not stated |
| Office action response | $3,500 per response Source | $2,750 Source |
| Design patent | $5,000, USPTO filing fees included Source | Not stated |
| USPTO fees | Fearn says it covers USPTO fees through issuance Source | Billed separately Source |
| Platform subscription | Not stated | Starter $2,700 a year, required while an application is active Source |
Patentext gives its own worked example: a $2,700 platform plan plus two provisionals and one conversion comes to $14,600 a year before USPTO fees (source).
Guarantees and who does the work
Fearn says it refunds the $9,000 non-provisional fee if the examiner allows no claims, as long as Fearn prosecutes the application through examination. Patentext says it is not a law firm and that its patent work is done by USPTO-registered patent agents.
Sources: Fearn pricing, Patentext pricing.
Firms that quote patent work
Landfall IP says it uses transparent fixed fees and does not bill hourly, and Founders Law Club includes patents in its membership services. Neither publishes a patent price list.
Landfall IP offers IP strategy for startups, from initial filings to portfolio management (source; about). Founders Law Club lists patents and trademarks among its services for members (source).
Trademark filing for startups
Trama lists one price per trademark filing that includes government and attorney fees: $590 in the US, $545 in the UK, $1,285 in the EU and $395 in Australia. A trademark protects a brand name, while a patent protects an invention.
Source: Trama pricing.
FAQ
How much does a provisional patent cost for a startup?
Fearn lists a provisional application at $2,500 and says it covers USPTO fees through issuance. Patentext lists $3,600, with USPTO fees billed separately and a platform plan from $2,700 a year. Prices were checked on 20 October 2026.
Are USPTO fees included in the price?
Fearn says it covers USPTO fees through issuance. Patentext says USPTO filing fees and other government fees are billed separately.
Is there a startup discount?
Patentext says selected startups can get 50% off their first year, up to $3,000.
Does Fearn offer a guarantee?
Fearn says it refunds the $9,000 non-provisional fee if the examiner allows no claims, provided Fearn prosecutes the application through examination.
Is Patentext a law firm?
No. Patentext says Patentext Services is a registered patent agency and that its work is done by USPTO-registered patent agents.
More guides for buyers
Sources
- fearn.ai/pricing
- patentext.com/pricing
- patentext.com/services/provisional-patent-application
- landfallip.com/services/
- landfallip.com/about-us/
- founderslawclub.com
- tramatm.com/pricing
Accessed 2026-10-20